Never Again?

Protest: Police officers were attacked and stock was thrown around today as Gaza protestors 'wreaked havoc' in a Tesco store. Above, members of staff are pictured with damaged boxes of Coca Cola following the protest  Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2726831/Police-officers-attacked-stock-thrown-Gaza-protestors-wreak-havoc-Tesco-store.html#ixzz3AixLiQ7C  Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

Protest: Police officers were attacked and stock was thrown around today as Gaza protestors ‘wreaked havoc’ in a Tesco store. Above, members of staff are pictured with damaged boxes of Coca Cola following the protest Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2726831/Police-officers-attacked-stock-thrown-Gaza-protestors-wreak-havoc-Tesco-store.html#ixzz3AixLiQ7C Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

Up to 100 demonstrators who ‘wreaked havoc’ in a Tesco store and attacked police officers in an apparent protest against its stocking of Israeli food are being sought by police.

Dozens of protestors gathered outside the supermarket in Hodge Hill, Birmingham, yesterday and could be heard calling on the chain to stop all trade with Israeli agricultural companies.

As the protest escalated, some demonstrators entered the premises and started hurling produce around and ‘getting aggressive’ – leaving both staff and shoppers traumatised.

It comes after a series of attacks on shops up and down the UK by protestors who are calling for Israeli produce and products to stop being sold in Britain.

A letter from an “ordinary middle-aged Londoner” expressing fears about growing anti-semitism in Britain has gone viral, with many taking to social media to express their own discomfort.

The letter from Stephen Spencer Ryde, sent to the Independent, has been retweeted more than 1,000 times since it was published on Friday.

It reads:

I’m just an ordinary middle-aged Londoner.

I work in an office. I go to football. I like eating out. I enjoy the arts. I am a proud family man. I give up time for charity work. I try to be a decent contributing member of society. I pay my taxes honestly. But there appears to be something that sets me and my kind apart.

At park gates in East London a friend of mine gets told to f**k off for photographing a flag. At a pub in Bath my wife gets called scum when she mentions her background.  In a student hall in Manchester a friend’s son is asked to leave as the specially prepared food he chose to eat is not permitted because it carries a label written in a language used by a country that is “banned” by the student union.

In Belfast a historic blue plaque is removed to deny part of my history.  In theatres in Edinburgh and London I am told to denounce my opinions or lose the right to perform.    A sportsman in Ireland tweets if he sees my kind he’ll punch us in the face and recommends others follow suit.

Protesters across the country show no shame in shouting that my historical persecutors were right and social media is rife with vitriol towards me (even from so-called friends). And in Bradford I’m told that I am not even permitted to enter the city.

What is this? Racism.  Where is this? Britain and Ireland. When is this?   Now. Who am I? I am a Jew.

Never again, we say, never again.

Stephen Spencer Ryde
London N3

A Central London branch of Sainsbury's, Britain's third largest supermarket chain, removed UK-made kosher goods from their shelves this weekend in an apparent stand with 'Free Gaza' protesters.

A Central London branch of Sainsbury’s, Britain’s third largest supermarket chain, removed UK-made kosher goods from their shelves this weekend in an apparent stand with ‘Free Gaza’ protesters.

One thought on “Never Again?

  1. Those who stand with Hamas fool themselves thinking they stand for something, when in truth all they stand for is chaos and the destruction of the human race.

    Like

Leave a Reply

